Pimentel, Alvarez are new Congress leaders

MANILA (Updated) — The 17th Congress of the Philippines convened Monday, July 25, and named Senator Aquilino Pimentel III and Davao del Norte Representative Pantaleon Alvarez as Senate President and House Speaker, respectively.

Pimentel took his oath before members of the Senate ahead of the nomination for House Speaker at the House Representatives. At least 20 voted in favor of Pimentel. (READ MORE)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *